Notifications
Clear all

Problems with 'Guitar in a nutshell'

3 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@oletimer)
Topic starter  

Hi all, my first post and it's not a good one.
I want to learn how to play a guitar and started my web search, I got to read loads of promising stuff from would be tutors. I eventually decided to bite the bullet and signed up with an Irish chap who runs a site called 'Guitar in a nutshell' he appeared to know what he was talking about and offers a money back guarantee. The instruction he was offering appeared a bit 'advanced' for me so I emailed and asked if he could advise me of a total beginner course, he emailed the next day directing me to a site which offered exactly what I was looking for. Feeling quietly confident, I signed up and paid $49.95, - which gets automatically taken every three months (90 days) for as long as you stay with them.
After I had paid, I received an email with a link to download the lessons I had paid for. This is where the fun begins...
Eagerly, I tried numerous times to download my first lesson but soon got frustrated because I got notices to tell me that 'the site has timed out'.
I sent an email to the 'support address' and next day received a reply asking what site I was attempting to get into? ( it appears that there are several sites associated with the 'guitar in a nutshell') I informed them that it is the 'Beginners Guitar in a nutshell' and waited for the reply, unfortunately, I have had no reply.
My reply was a bit caustic, and I pointed out that I couldn't gain entry to the site, the reason was because the site keeps 'timing out'.
I do not have much in the way of patients when things like this happens, it doesn't feel right.
Now I wait, 50 bucks lighter, to see wether I will get the lessons I paid for...
I only found Guitarnoise by accident but I wish I had found it earlier, it's a mine of information.
It may have helped me avoid my present situation.
More as it happens...
Sincerely
George

(@alangreen)